Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


The Hellions of Halstead Hall

When a series leaves you with lots of leftover heroes,
write another series to use them!

This series is the marriage of two things. First, my attachment to a leftover hero from the Heiress series, Lord Stoneville, who captured the imagination of my readers (a lot of people expected him to be Cousin Michael). And second, my interest in an actual historical family from the Georgian period: the Earl of Barrymore and his siblings.

The Earl of Barrymore’s parents died when he was very young (he was 4 years old at his father’s death, 11 at his mother’s), leaving him and three siblings to grow up spoiled by their grandmother. All four were quite wild, and they all had nicknames. He was called Hellgate, one of his brothers was called Cripplegate (because of a club foot), and the other was Newgate (the only prison he’d never been in). Their sister was Billingsgate, because she cursed like a fishwife. I’ve always been fascinated by them. The earl was incredibly multi-talented and romantic, though sadly he died at 24. If you want to read more about the siblings, you can find information at The Regency Collection. And at Google Books, you can find the entire biography of the Earl of Barrymore.

I stole a few details from the facts about this interesting family, made my guy Oliver the oldest sibling, and, voila, another noble family emerged—the Sharpes.

Oliver (the Marquess of Stoneville), Jarret, Minerva, Gabriel, and Celia were deprived of their parents as a result of a tragedy that happened nineteen years ago. It sent them into free fall, which is where they’ve been ever since. Their rich maternal grandmother, not of the nobility, has been supporting them, but now she has issued an ultimatum—marry or be cut off. And not just one of them, but all of them. Now they’re scrambling to decide what to do with their lives. Do they give in to Gran’s demands? Or do they fight to thwart her somehow? You’ll have to read the books to discover the answer!

Some of the Heiress characters will show up from time to time (Stoneville’s friends, after all, married heiresses or teachers from the school), and some of the characters from the Heiress series are sure to have a place in this series. But if you haven’t read the Heiress series, you won’t be lost at all—these books are definitely self-contained stories. I hope you’ll try them out!


Book Titles

Note: These books are a series in the sense that they are set in a shared world and some characters make appearances in later books. They can, however, easily be standalones. Feel free to jump in wherever you like.


1: The Truth About Lord Stoneville

In the two decades since a tragic “accident” took his parents’ lives, Oliver Sharpe, the Marquess of Stoneville, has survived the scandal surrounding that fateful night by living as an unrepentant rakehell. Now, with his grandmother Hetty promising to… Read more

  • Buy now:

2: A Hellion in Her Bed

Mired in scandal after his parents’ mysterious deaths, notorious gambler Lord Jarret Sharpe agrees to tamely run the family’s brewery for a year if his Machiavellian grandmother rescinds her ultimatum that he marry. But the gambler in him can’t resist when… Read more

  • Buy now:

3: How To Woo a Reluctant Lady

Lady Minerva Sharpe has the perfect plan to thwart her grandmother’s demand that she marry by year’s end: become engaged to a rogue! Surely Gran would rather release her inheritance than see her wed a scoundrel. And who better to play the part of… Read more

  • Buy now:

4: To Wed a Wild Lord

Like everything daredevil Gabriel Sharpe does, pursuing Virginia Waverly is a high-stakes game. Ever since her brother Roger died racing Lord Gabriel, Virginia has yearned to take her revenge on the reckless lord by beating him at his own sport. But when she… Read more

  • Buy now:

5: A Lady Never Surrenders

With two months left to find a husband to fulfill her grandmother’s ultimatum, Lady Celia Sharpe sets her sights on three eligible bachelors. Becoming betrothed to one of these wealthy, high-ranking men will surely prove her capable of getting married, so… Read more

  • Buy now:


Bridge book between The Hellions of Halstead Hall and The Duke’s Men series


‘Twas the Night After Christmas

Pierce Waverly, the Earl of Devonmont, meets his match in this Christmas hardcover. Read more

  • Buy now:


Romantic Times Interview on How to Woo a Reluctant Lady

Historical romance author Sabrina Jeffries discusses her newest heroine, Lady Minerva Sharpe, from her novel How to Woo a Reluctant Lady from The Hellions of Halstead Hall series.

Interview on How to Woo a Reluctant Lady

The third novel in Sabrina Jeffries’s Hellions of Hallstead Hall series, featuring the independent and talented Lady Minerva Sharpe.

Interview on A Hellion in Her Bed

The second novel in Sabrina Jeffries’s new Hellions of Hallstead Hall series.

Interview on The Truth About Lord Stoneville

Sabrina Jeffries shares facts about the first novel in her new Hellions of Hallstead Hall series, featuring Oliver Sharpe, the eldest of the Sharpe siblings.

Interview on The Hellions of Halstead Hall Series

Historical romance author Sabrina Jeffries discusses her newest series, The Hellions of Halstead Hall, with The Romantic Times’ Book Reviews’ Whitney Sullivan.